Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Broad Overviews of an Issue
These databases provide information on a wide variety of current social issues. These are good starting points for a basic overview of a topic as well as finding pro/con arguments about an issue.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Ideal for those looking for pro and con arguments on a wide variety of contemporary social issues. Includes the opposing viewpoints series as well as links to reference materials, statistics, selected magazine and newspaper articles, images and more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides reports on current issues including an introduction, chronology, opposing positions, statistical data, and bibliography.
Academic Journal Articles
Use these databases to find scholarly articles that may provide more focused and in-depth analysis of an issue.
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 2,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.
Find Books at USD
Search our Catalog for books, videos, and other items.
Request Books From Other Libraries
If a book is not available at USD there are two options:
This is a combined catalog for USD, SDSU, UCSD, CSU San Marcos and San Diego County Public Libraries. If you find the book you need in the Circuit you can simply make an online request and have the book delivered to USD.
- Interlibrary Loan
If the book is not available through the Circuit, use our Interlibrary loan service (ILLiad).