Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Italian: Finding Articles, Images, etc.

Research guide for Italian Language and Culture

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

ILL - Interlibrary Loan

Copley Library

Profile Photo
Alma Ortega, PhD
She/her/hers
Contact:
University of San Diego - Copley Library
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110-2492


When chat is off feel free to email me your research and library related questions:
alma@sandiego.edu or we can connect via Zoom:
https://sandiego.zoom.us/my/almaortegaphd. You can also call and leave a message:
619.260.2259

Databases to start your research:

MLA International Bibliography MLA (Modern Language Abstracts) lists journal articles and a variety of other types of materials on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.

Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Iter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, was created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) . ITER resources include the Iter Bibliography among others.

JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

Literature Resource Center Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Published by Gale Research.

Project Muse Provides online access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

 

Also helpful:

Academic Search Premier Provides full text for over 2,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.

Artstor ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Nexis Uni  useful to search for a variety of Italian language newspapers.

Peer-Reviewed Journals

Peer-reviewed journals, also known as Refereed Journals or Scholarly Journals, are...

  • scholarly journals with articles that have been critically evaluated and approved by several scholars (expert peer-reviewers) before inclusion in a journal, not just by an editor.
  • reviewed by peers to assess the quality of the methodology, data, and conclusions presented.

Peer review lends credibility to the article because the process confirms the reliability of the data and the findings of the research.


Verify that a journal is peer-reviewed with Ulrich's Periodical Directory