Copyright and Fair Use
INTERNATIONAL COMMUNICATION ASSOCIATION - Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Scholarly Research in Communication
Resources for Journalists
- Resources for JournalistsThis annotated list provides links to several useful online sources, from journalism organization sites to tip sheets and editing tools.
Print and Online Resources
The sources below are useful for getting started on the research process. Many more print sources are available at Copley Library. Links are either to an online reference source or to a book record in the library catalog. Print sources include call number (e.g. P91.3 .S527 1997). Note: books marked CL Reference are available for use in library only.
- CQ Press Library This link opens in a new windowIncludes the following: CQ Researcher, CQ Weekly, CQ Public Affairs Collection, CQ Supreme Court Collection, and Encyclopedia of American Government. This is a great resource for finding information on current and controversial issues of the day.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA digital library containing high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers. Offers access to millions of entries and contains all types of reference books including dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering science to Shakespeare.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowIdeal for those looking for pro and con arguments on a wide variety of contemporary social issues. Includes the opposing viewpoints series as well as links to reference materials, statistics, selected magazine and newspaper articles, images, primary docum
- Communication yearbookP87 .C5974
- Dictionary of media literacyby Art Silverblatt, Ellen M. Enright Eliceir
P91.3 .S527 1997 - Encyclopedia of communication and informationedited by Jorge Reina Schement
P87.5 .E53 2002 - The New York times film reviewsIn print from 1931 to 2000.
PN1995 .N4 - AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television CommercialsA free digital archive of television commercials from the 1950s to the 1980s.
Reference Librarian
Hugh Burkhart
Contact:
Copley Library - CL 231
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110-2492
Please contact me if you need assistance with finding information or getting help researching for your projects.
hburkhart@sandiego.edu
For remote consultations and instruction sessions via Zoom, please email
Website
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110-2492
Please contact me if you need assistance with finding information or getting help researching for your projects.
hburkhart@sandiego.edu
For remote consultations and instruction sessions via Zoom, please email
Subjects: Communication, Creative Writing, English, Film Studies, First Year Writing, French, News, Theatre