Final Project
This guide will help you find resources for your final project: a museum proposal or a freestyle project. Both require secondary literature, and the museum proposal requires archival research / primary sources.
Key Resources
-
Library CatalogFind books and e-books provided by Copley Library. If a book is listed as "off site storage," you can request that it be brought to campus for you to check out.
-
Ethnic Studies databasesCopley Library has a page devoted to Ethnic Studies databases, so if you want to see an overview of them all at once, go here.
-
Browse JournalsYou can browse journal titles that are available through the library.
Reference Information
Reference sources are good places to start your research to get background and contextual information about a topic. They help provide you with foundational knowledge before you launch into more specific research.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA digital library containing high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers. Offers access to millions of entries and contains all types of reference books including dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering science to Shakespeare.
-
Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new windowAncestry Library Edition, the largest online family history resource available, provides unprecedented access to family history via documents that record the lineage of individuals from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, and more.
Library Instruction Survey
Image databases and primary sources
-
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Drawing on over 400 volumes, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present
-
American Indian Experience This link opens in a new windowThe American Indian Experience offers access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images.
-
Asian American Experience This link opens in a new window
Primary sources, including images, audio clips, documents, and video, and summary overviews covering historical and current experiences of Asian Americans in the United States
-
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
LAE’s content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with more than 84,000 backlist titles from 100+ publishers, including Princeton, Yale, and California, and millions of primary sources.
-
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Art Online is an innovative new gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location.
-
Smithsonian Open AccessWelcome to Smithsonian Open Access, where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking.
-
Digital Public Library of AmericaDiscover 52,801,705 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
Secondary Scholarly Sources
Once you have defined your topic and you need in-depth information, here are some databases with scholarly articles to consult:
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with more than 84,000 backlist titles from 100+ publishers, including Princeton, Yale, and California, and millions of primary sources.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 2,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
-
Sage Premier Journals This link opens in a new window
The Premier package provides access to virtually all of the SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences
Digital Initiatives Librarian
Archives, Special Collections, & Digital Initiatives
Camino Hall 001NA