Databases Intro
A-Z Databases is where Copley Library's databases are listed.
❦
To find the right database for your search, use the filters below.
-
Subjects to narrow the field of content, e.g. engineering, political science.
-
Types to narrow the material, e.g. article, ebooks, statistics, videos.
-
Vendors to narrow database ownership.
Databases are the primary way to find sources.
While the Primo search on the library website is a good place to start, individual databases are a deeper dive into research often with unique features catered to their subject(s).
See database recommendations below.
Databases
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library is one the most comprehensive databases for scholarship in the computing industry. It offers over 30 publications, all full-text conference proceedings, and publication archives dating back to the 1950s.
- Compendex - Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Currently with 16.3 million records across 190 engineering disciplines, Compendex delivers the comprehensive, precise information and insights that researchers need.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related disciplines. IEEE Xplore contains full-text documents from IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards, in addition to books and educational courses.
- INSPEC This link opens in a new window
INSPEC® is a comprehensive index to the global journal and proceedings literature in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, mechanical engineering, production and manufacturing engineering, and information technology. Access is through the Web of Science platform. Searching possible using the unique Inspec Thesaurus and Classification Codes as well as chemical, numerical, and astronomical indexing.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text articles from over 4000 journals including: agricultural & biological sciences, biochemistry, genetics & molecular biology, chemistry, earth & planetary sciences, medicine, and social science.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Includes access to over 2,000 journals in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It provides cited reference searching, the unique ISI search and retrieval feature that lets users track the literature forward and backward.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Includes access to over 2,500 journals in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences.
- International Security and Counter Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Check the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" box for a journal article search. ISCTRC provides a comprehensive Open Source Intelligence Resource for analysts, risk management professionals, and students. Content includes hundreds of full text journals and periodicals, hundreds of thousands of selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, blogs, FAQs, and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer helps you gain deep insights into any location of interest through thousands of data variables and stunning visualizations, and reinforces your decisions with reliable data mapping capabilities. You can pick from maps that cover everything from 220 years of U.S. Census data, U.S. elections, crime, business, environmental, health, and religion data, even statistics for Europe and World Development Indicators.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista.com consolidates over 2.5 million data points on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and makes it available on four platforms: German, English, French and Spanish. Our Market Outlooks provide market sizes, forecasts and other indicators for the digital economy, key consumer markets and relevant automotive markets for up to 50 countries. The Global Consumer Survey allows analyses of consumer behavior and media usage in the on- and offline world based on the data of 120,000 consumers from 28 countries, who were surveyed about 50 topics and 1400 brands.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 2,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) This link opens in a new windowCRL’s deep and diverse holdings support research in the history of science, economics, law and government, immigration and population studies, international diplomacy, and cultural studies. It contains the largest collection of circulating newspapers in North America (over 16,000 titles with strengths in various global areas and historical U.S. ethnic titles). It also holds over 800,000 foreign dissertations dating back to the 1800's, primary legal and government resources, and more. Users can request material from the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) using the Copley Library Interlibrary Loan form. CRL provides extended loan periods for member libraries and strives to lend any quantity of material in any format to members. For more information or assistance with CRL requests, contact your Copley Library subject liaison.
- Energy, Science, and Technology Information Resources This link opens in a new window
Includes scientific and technical information resources of the Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) in broad disciplines such as physics, chemistry, materials, biology, engineering, energy efficiency, and other related subject areas. Resources include tools for cross searching bibliographic citations, full-text technical reports, preprints, and journals citations residing in multiple databases and Web sites.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) This link opens in a new windowLibrary, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 500 core journals, more than 50 priority journals, and 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
- Science This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of the journal's news stories, research reports, and commentary articles in a searchable database, enhanced by additional information, links, multimedia, and user services, as well as a database of scientific-product information.
