Women's and Gender Studies

To get started creating your annotated bibliography, download the Zotero app for both desktop and browser from the Zotero website.

• The desktop version of Zotero will allow you to save, cite, and take notes on articles directly in the desktop library.
• The browser app version of Zotero will allow you to save articles directly from websites as you are conducting your research.

Zotero is a free, open-source citation management system that helps you collect, manage, and share your research. The app does not require a subscription, and your research will remain accessible to you after graduation.

For an in-depth, easy-to-follow guide about Zotero, visit UNC University Libraries' Zotero Guide.

After downloading Zotero, you will set up an account and update your settings to take advantage of features to:

• Sync
• Cite

Set up a Zotero Account

Register for a free Zotero account at https://www.zotero.org/user/register.

Zotero Syncing

1. Open the Zotero desktop app and navigate to the Settings menu.
2. Click on the Sync tab.
3. Select Sync automatically to automatically sync content between your desktop and browser versions of Zotero. Anything you add from your browser will be automatically added to the desktop library and vice versa.
4. Select Sync full-text content to sync the text content of attached article files for searching within Zotero.
5. Select both options for File Syncing and download files at sync time.

Zotero Citations

1. Open the Zotero desktop app and navigate to the Settings menu.
2. Click on the Cite tab.
3. Click on Get additional styles.

4. Search for "annotated" in the Style Search box.
5. Click to add either or both the APA or Chicago Manual of Style annotated bibliography styles, depending on your assignment.

6. We are going to add one more citation style. Re-open the Style Search box and search for "abstract".
7. Add the APA 7th edition (with abstract) style.
8. These styles will insert your annotations with your citations when you generate a bibliography from Zotero.

To add annotations to Zotero, you will need to add information to specific fields associated with your Zotero entries in the desktop app.

• For the Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition (note, annotated bibliography) style, add annotations to the source's Extra field in Zotero.
• For the American Psychological Association 7th edition (annotated bibliography) style, insert annotations into the Extra field.
• For the American Psychological Association 7th edition (with abstract) style, insert annotations into the Abstract field.

To generate an annotated bibliography from Zotero:

1. Create a Collection for your research project by clicking on the folder button at the top of the Zotero menu.

2. Add the articles or other content you would like to include in your bibliography to the new collection.
3. Right-click on the collection title.
4. Select Create Bibliography from Collection.

5. Select one of the annotated bibliography citation styles from the list that is most appropriate for your assignment.
6. Select Bibliography as the Output Mode.
7. Select Copy to Clipboard as the Output Method.
8. Click OK.

5. Paste your annotated bibliography into a Word or Google Doc.