Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition
Book Citation Elements:
- Author(s)' and Editor(s)' Names
- Book Title
- Publisher name and location
- Publication Date (Year only)
Bibliography Template:
Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication.
Notes Template:
First Name Last Name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.
Journal Article Citation Elements:
- Author (if given)
- Article Title
- Journal Title
- Volume number (list number only)
- Issue number (list as no.#)
- Publication Date (Month Year OR Year only)
- Include page numbers of article
Bibliography Template:
Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Journal Title. Volume #, Issue no. (Month Year): page numbers.
Notes Template:
First Name Last Name, "Article title," Journal Title volume number, issue no. (Publication date): page number(s).
Image Figure Caption Template:
Figure 1: Creator, Title and/or description, Date, Location. (Citation for image source) Image Credit: Photographer/Source/Rights Holder.
- Creator (Typically the architect(s) or firm of the built work, if known)
- Title (Name of built work or a description. Optionally, you can include both, by naming the building and describing what view the image gives of the build work.)
- Date (Typically completion date of the built work. If not indicate [begun, consecrated, demolished, etc.] before the date)
- Location (if known)
- Citation for the source of image (where you found the image)
- Website: article author, article title, website name, date posted (all if known)
- Image Database: Database name
- Journal Article: article author, article title, volume, issue, date, page number
- Book: book author, book title, publication city, publisher, date, page number
- Image credit (Photographer, Source, Rights holder, optional to include the date of the photograph/image if known)
Example 1: https://archimage.lib.ttu.edu/items/show/234972
Figure 1: Andrea Palladio, Palazzo Valmarana, 1565, Vicenza, Veneto, Italy. (TTU Arch Design Images) Image Credit: Elizabeth Sasser
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017-09-05Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
