Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Comics, Graphic Novels & Sequential Arts: Citing Comics

This guide provides information on how to search Copley Library's growing comic book, graphic novel and other sequential arts (e.g. Manga), collection highlights, how to read sequential arts, citation tips, critical studies in comics/graphic novels, and m

Overview

Overall, comics citations require that the writer(s) reference, Writer, artist/illustrator, Letters by, story title, publication information, and publication medium. In the boxes below are examples of citations comics in single issue, comic strip, graphic novel, and webcomic format. If you need more guidance please see your subject librarian.

Citing Books

MLA Format

Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date.

Eisner, Will. Graphic Storytelling and Visual Narrative. W.W. Norton, 2008.

APA Format

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also for subtitle. Location: Publisher.

Eisner, W. (2008). Graphic storytelling and visual narrative. New York: W.W. Norton.

Chicago Format

         Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of
         publication.

         Eisner, Will. Graphic Storytelling and visual narrative. New York: W.W. Norton,
         2008.

 

For more on these citation styles, refer to the Purdue OWL for MLAAPA, and Chicago formatting.

Citing Comic Books

Basic Format

Writer Lastname, Firstname (w), Penciller Firstname Lastname(p), Inker Firstname Lastname (i). "Story Title." Publication Title #issue (Date of Publication), Publisher.

Example Citation

Coates, Ta-Nehisi (w), Brian Stelfreeze, and Laura Martin (a). "Black Panther." Black Panther #16 (September 2017), Marvel Worldwide.

For more on this citation style, refer to Comic Art in Scholarly Writing.

Citing Original Art

MLA Format

Last Name, First Name. Title of Work. Date, Medium, Collection Name, The Ohio State University Cartoon Library and Museum, URL. Accessed Day Month Year.

Caniff, Milton. Terry and the Pirates. 14 October 1941, Ink/Illustration Board, Milton Caniff Collection, The Ohio State University Cartoon Library and Museum, http://osucartoons.pastperfectonline.com/webobject/F10D4AE8-3893-4FD9-BE2F-642182478796. Accessed 9 January 2018.

APA Format

Artist, A. A. (Role). (Date). Title of work [Format]. Collection Name, The Ohio State University Cartoon Library and Museum. Retrieved from URL.

Caniff, Milton (Artist). (14 October 1941). Terry and the pirates [Original Art]. Milton Caniff Collection, The Ohio State University Cartoon Library and Museum. Retrieved from http://osucartoons.pastperfectonline.com/webobject/F10D4AE8-3893-4FD9-BE2F-642182478796.

Chicago Format

Last name, First name Middle initial. Title of Work. Format. City: Publishing Company, copyright date. Source, Collection. Medium, http://...(accessed date).
  
Caniff, Milton. Terry and the Pirates. Comic strip. 1941. Milton Caniff Collection, The Ohio State University Billy Ireland Cartoon Library and Museum, Ink/Illustration board, http://osucartoons.pastperfectonline.com/webobject/F10D4AE8-3893-4FD9-BE2F-642182478796 (accessed January 9, 2018).

Include the URL and date accessed only if you viewed the art online. If you viewed the art in person, this is not necessary. 

For more on these citation styles, refer to the Purdue OWL for MLAAPA, and Chicago formatting.

Citing Archival and Manuscript Collections

Basic Format

[identification of item], [Box Number/ Folder Number], [Collection Name], SPEC.CGA.[Collection ID], Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum, Ohio State University.

Example Citation

History notes on European cathedrals and churches, [undated], Box MAC.P2 / Folder 1, Milton Caniff Collection, SPEC.CGA.MAC, Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum, Ohio State University.

Many collections also include this information in their finding aids.

Citing Periodicals

MLA Format

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article or Work." Title of Periodical, Volume, Issue, Year, pages.

Robb, Jenny E. "Bill Blackbeard: The Collector Who Rescued the Comics." Journal of American Culture, vol. 32, no. 3, 2009, pp. 244-256.

APA Format

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article or work. Title of Periodical, volume number(issue number), pages.

Robb, J. E. (2009). Bill Blackbeard: The collector who rescued the comics. Journal of American Culture, 32(3), 244-256.

Chicago Format

     Last name, First name Middle initial. "Title of Work." Journal title volume issue 
     number (date): pages.

     Robb, Jenny E. "Bill Blackbeard: The collector who rescued the comics". Journal of 
     American Culture 32 no.3 (2009): 244-256.

For more on these citation styles, refer to the Purdue OWL for MLAAPA, and Chicago formatting.