Welcome
These are just a few of the resources available through Copley Library at USD.
You are strongly encouraged to contact Steve Staninger
at sstan@sandiego.edu for personalized research assistance.
Business and Industries
- Economist Intelligence - EIU This link opens in a new windowThe Economist Intelligence Unit provides a constant flow of analysis and forecasts on more than 200 countries and eight key industries.Country analysis includes in-depth economic, political, business, and industry information. Trends, forecasts, market indicators, and more.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva includes the Dow Jones and Reuters news wires, The Wall Street Journal and over 8,000 other magazines, newspapers, and trade journals from a wide variety of disciplines.
- Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Includes information on 10 million business, including officers, addresses, sales, subsidiaries, branches. etc. Updated monthly.
- S&P NetAdvantage (Capital IQ) This link opens in a new window
Includes Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, and Mutual Fund Reports.
Census Information
- Censtats Provides access to the following U.S. Census resources: County Business Patterns, USA Counties, Annual Survey of Manufacturers, ZIP Business Patterns, Census Tract/Street Index, Building Permits, International Trade Data, Occupation by Race and Sex, and Consolidated Federal Funds Report.
Peer-Reviewed Journals
In peer-reviewed journals, also known as refereed journals or scholarly journals:
- articles are published only after they have been critically
evaluated and approved by several scholars (expert peer-reviewers)
- reviewers can recommend that a paper be rejected, revised and re-submitted (rejection is still possible), or accepted. Acceptance without revisions is rare.
- authors do not usually know the identity of their reviewers. In "double blind" peer review, both author and referee are anonymous.
Peer review lends credibility to the article by confirming that the research meets the standards of the scholarly community.
Verify that a journal is peer-reviewed with Ulrich's Periodical Directory
Market Research Reports
- Passport This link opens in a new windowEuromonitor's Passport database is an online business information system providing business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to statistics, market reports, company profiles and information sources.
- Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel offers a series of research reports covering the US and European marketplace. Each market research report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.
Additional Resources
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, etc.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowEuromonitor's Passport database is an online business information system providing business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to statistics, market reports, company profiles and information sources.
- IBISWorld Industry Insider This link opens in a new windowThe IBISWorld Industry Insider supplements the IBISWorld Industry Reports by providing spotlight reports and articles on various topics impacting the larger macroeconomic space that industries exist within.
- Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Includes information on 10 million business, including officers, addresses, sales, subsidiaries, branches. etc. Updated monthly.
Business Articles Online
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, etc.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva includes the Dow Jones and Reuters news wires, The Wall Street Journal and over 8,000 other magazines, newspapers, and trade journals from a wide variety of disciplines.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of over 5,000 newspapers, magazines, wire services, business publications and company information along with basic legal and medical resources