Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MS in Applied Artificial Intelligence [AAI]: Finding Articles

this guide was designed to support the MS in AAI

How to Find Journal Articles

When you search for a topic in our databases sometimes the article will be available as full-text.

If the article is not available as full text, you will get a list of citations. These citations usually refer to articles appearing in journals, magazines and newspapers. Note the information in the citation (author, title, journal title, volume, date, page numbers). 

Then, check our Catalog to see whether we have the journal either in our stacks or through a different online source.

If we do not subscribe to the journal where your article appears, you can use our Interlibrary Loan Service to request a copy of the article you need.

Subject Specific Databases

These databases include entries on computer science and other topics related to artificial intelligence and related courses of study. Many contain journals with full text articles.

Full text of every article every published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.

Currently with 16.3 million records across 190 engineering disciplines, Compendex delivers the comprehensive, precise information and insights that researchers  need.The Engineering Index Backfile provides an historical view of engineering developments and innovations described in literature from 1884-1969. Over 1.7 million records have been digitized from the original Engineering Index print indexes.

Engineering Village has the search, analytics, and navigation tools that engineers need to efficiently generate research, assess the impact and relevancy of critical information, and discover new insights for addressing the world’s toughest engineering challenges. All content and features are designed for engineers, so results and outcomes are always engineering-relevant.

Content from the Institute of of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and UK's Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). Contains almost one-third of the world's current literature in electrical engineering, communications and computer science.

INSPEC® is a comprehensive index to literature in physics, electrical/electronic technology, computing, information technology, control, production, and manufacturing engineering. Produced by the Institution of Engineering and Technology and updated weekly, Inspec® provides data from journals, books, reports, dissertations and conference proceedings.

General Databases

These databases have a broader focus but are still worth including in your hunt for resources.

Full text access to nearly 4,500 journals (3,600 peer-reviewed) from a broad range of academic disciplines.

A digital reference library containing hundreds of high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers.

Includes bibliographic citation for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

Access to journals on nearly all topics, and includes more than twenty titles related to cyber security and computer science.

Peer Reviewed Journals

Peer-reviewed journals, also known as Refereed journals or scholarly journals, are journals with articles that have been critically evaluated and approved by several scholars (reviewers with expertise in the subject of the article) before inclusion in a journal. 

Peer reviews lend credibility to the article because the process confirms the reliability of the data and the findings of the research.

To verify that a journal is peer-reviewed check Ulrich's Periodical Directory

Center for Research Libraries

The University of San Diego is a member of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), a partnership of more than 200 research libraries which acquires and preserves primary source materials to make them available to researchers through interlibrary loan and digital delivery. For more information about CRL, see our CRL LibGuide.