Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Care Informatics: Articles / Databases

Resources and helpful information specific to students in the Health Care Informatics graduate program

Health Care Informatics Databases Available through Copley Library

Academic Search Premier

Provides full text for over 2,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.

ACM Digital Library

The ACM Digital Library is one the most comprehensive databases for scholarship in the computing industry. It offers over 30 publications, all full-text conference proceedings, and publication archives dating back to the 1950s.

Bates Visual Guide

Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL with Full Text, provides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials

CCTR contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care together with references to clinical trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration in MEDLINE and EMBASE. Contributors follow quality control standards to ensure that only reports of definite randomized controlled trials or controlled clinical trials are included. These controlled trials included were identified by the contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration to create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH)

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH) is part of Ovid's Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection, and includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.

Cochrane Methodology Register

The Cochrane Methodology Register is a database of studies relevant to the methods of systematic reviews of healthcare and social interventions.

Dissertations and Theses Full text

The database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Dissertations from 1997 to present are available in full-text PDF format.

Evidence Based Medical Reviews: Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CMR, HTA, and NHSEED

This multifile database allows you to search simultaneously the seven Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases. Please click on the 'Logoff' icon when finished.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

Contains descriptions of instruments of use in assessing health and behavior. Includes questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales and tests. Please click on the 'Logoff' icon when finished.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

IEEE Computer Society Digital Library

Full-text, online access to the 26 IEEE Computer Society journals and magazines from 1988 to the present, and over 2,200 Computer Society conference publications with back files to 1995.

INSPEC

INSPEC® is a comprehensive index to literature in physics, electrical/electronic technology, computing, information technology, control, production, and manufacturing engineering. Produced by the Institution of Engineering and Technology and updated weekly, Inspec® provides data from journals, books, reports, dissertations and conference proceedings.

Internet Archive

The Internet Archive was founded in 1996 to build an Internet library with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format, such as Internet sites and other cultural digital artifacts (i.e. movies, interviews, images, etc.). Using the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine, users can look at their own Web site and track how it has evolved. Plug-ins are made available as needed.

JBI ( Formerly Joanna Briggs Insititute EBP Database)

JBI's evidence–based practice model is considered a benchmark in the healthcare industry — encouraging healthcare professionals to implement effective evidence–based practice program to provide the best possible patient care. JBI EBP Resources offer: Content and tools that will help your institution implement evidence–based practice; Systematic reviews, recommended practices, evidence summaries, and more; Evidence to inform clinical practice — derived from JBI's Global Collaborating Centers in over 40 countries; Summarized research in a format that is easy to locate, understand and distribute to your staff; Tools designed to help EBP policy and practice manual development based on evidence; Critical appraisal skill development using a tool to guide you through the steps; And resources designed to help assess quality of research.

PubMed

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.

Science

Provides the full text of the journal's news stories, research reports, and commentary articles in a searchable database, enhanced by additional information, links, multimedia, and user services, as well as a database of scientific-product information.

ScienceDirect

Provides access to full-text articles from over 400 journals including: agricultural & biological sciences, biochemistry, genetics & molecular biology, chemistry, earth & planetary sciences, medicine, and social science.

Up to Date

A clinical information resource created by a community of 3,000 expert clinicians that provides current answers to clinical questions. Over 8,500 topics are covered. Note: Off campus access is not available for this database.

Web of Science

Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It provides cited reference searching, the unique ISI search and retrieval feature that lets users track the literature forward and backward.

Database searching is not googling!

  • Database searching is a skill that takes time & practice to learn. Trial & error are part of it.
  • Searching Google is instant and effortless, requiring no skill at all. Database searching is not googling.
  • Throw out your Google expectations of immediately finding exactly what you are looking for.

Time-saving Database Searching Tips

Hahn Faculty Guide

Finding Quality Research Articles

Linking Google Scholar to USD Library

Video Playlist of Individual Instruction