About Lumivero NVivo
NVivo is a qualitative data analysis (QDA) package used to organize and analyze data in documents, audio, video, images, spreadsheets and database tables, literature reviews and bibliographies, web pages, social media content, and more. The software allows users to work with large amounts of data in many languages and supports a wide range of research methodologies.
The University of San Diego offers NVivo as a supported software for tenure-track faculty & graduate students. To access NVivo, visit IT's Software page. You will need to login using your USDOne credentials to submit the request form for initial download & subsequent license renewals.
Term of license: 1 year
These vendor videos provides a good introduction to the QSR NVivo software.
NVivo (Windows) vs NVivo (Mac)
NVivo on Windows and Mac are separate software applications with different project file formats (file extensions: .nvp for Windows and .nvpx for Mac). You can convert projects between the platforms however there are limitations such that, while you may be able to successfully convert a project on a once-off basis (e.g. changing to a new computer) it is not recommended that you move projects between platforms as part of an ongoing workflow.
There are important differences between Windows and Mac projects that you should be aware of before converting:
- Mac projects can be up to 512 GB compared to 10 GB for Windows, so Mac projects over 10 GB cannot be converted.
- NVivo Mac does not have all of the features of the Windows version. Project items created by features not present in Mac are hidden in projects converted to and opened in NVivo Mac.
IMPORTANT Unsupported items are not deleted when a project is converted to Mac—only hidden. If the project is converted back into Windows format the items appear again. Therefore, unless you are confident the project will never return to Windows, do not to delete items that may depend on Windows functions e.g. empty folders that might contain framework matrices, or queries dependent on dynamic sets.
The following features are not present in NVivo Mac:
- Compound and group queries
- See-also links
- Annotations in audios, videos, pictures and datasets
- Dynamic sets
- Framework matrices
- Sentiment coding
- Relationship coding
- Social network analysis
- Cluster analysis
- Project maps
- Reports
Content from Converting projects between Windows and Mac
NVivo Software Guides, Manuals, & Tutorials
- Nvivo Online Help (Windows)Complete user help for NVivo Windows (Release 1) including NCapture and NVivo modules.
- Nvivo Online Help (Mac)Complete user help for NVivo Mac (Release 1) including NCapture and NVivo modules
- NVivo TutorialsQSR's NVivo Tutorials for Windows or Mac allow you to become familiar with NVivo at your own pace with step-by-step demonstrations.
- NVivo TrainingThe online or in-person training series teaches you how to use the NVivo software. There are fees associated with the training series.
- NVivo WebinarsThese free online demonstrations of NVivo range from general software tours to custom demonstrations for specific audiences.
- NVivo 12 Online Help (Mac)Contains an overview of and detailed step-by-step 'how to' instructions for working with NVivo. You can also access this information from the Help menu while working in NVivo.
- NVivo 12 Online Help (Windows)Contains an overview of and detailed step-by-step 'how to' instructions for working with NVivo. You can also access this information from the Help menu while working in NVivo.
NVivo Tutorials & Resources
The top video, NVivo and the Dissertation Literature Review, is only viewable on YouTube. Click on "Watch on YouTube" or go to https://youtu.be/LyOIvT2ARus. The video description on YouTube is as follows: Not sure how to navigate your dissertation journey? See how NVivo can help explore diverse approaches to a literature review; as well as share tips for connecting the literature review to the ongoing data collection and analysis.
- Extending Your Literature Review With NVivo 12 PlusWritten by Silvana di Gregorio, PhD (April 5, 2018)
- Combining NVivo and Endnote for a quality assessed metasynthesis of literatureCase Study (May 13, 2019)
Books
Research Skills for Teachers : From research question to research design by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781760290672Publication Date: 2018-10-01Understanding research principles and developing a small-scale research project is increasingly required of both pre-service and in-service teachers at early childhood, primary and secondary levels. In Research Skills for Teachers, Beverley Moriarty provides an accessible guide to every aspect of education research appropriate to the needs of the beginner. The book helps readers identify their area of research interest and then focus their topic into something manageable yet original and sustainable. There are comprehensive, readable explanations of key concepts and technical terms, and realistic examples throughout show how ideas can be put into action. The text adopts an iterative approach, encouraging readers to revisit research questions, research design and methodology as they progress through the stages of planning and execution.
The book provides clear guidance on core issues including:
*Understanding and completing a literature review
*Quantitative and qualitative approaches
* Developing interviews and surveys
* Analyzing data
* Ethical issues and dilemmas
~Description from Amazon
Qualitative Research in the Study of Leadership by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781785606519Publication Date: 2016-01-06The book is divided into four parts: (1) foundations of qualitative research methods consisting of a chapter summarizing the various qualitative paradigms and a research methods chapter illuminating various design features such as data collection and analysis, qualitative standards and ethics; (2) frequently used qualitative methods in the study of leadership designs; (3) underutilized qualitative methods; (4) three commissioned empirical studies illustrating content analysis, narrative analysis, and mixed methods study using content analysis and case study. The book also includes a chapter on the use non-textual, image-based sources of data for qualitative leadership research. Each of the methods chapters contains a number of leadership studies that have employed a given method such as case study, interviewing or phenomenology.The book is intended for students of leadership ranging from graduate students to seasoned leadership scholars. It was written with leadership practitioners in mind who wish to broaden their understanding of new developments in leadership research.
Research Methods for Postgraduates by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781118341469Publication Date: 2016-10-17An indispensable reference for postgraduates, providing up to date guidance in all subject areas Methods for Postgraduates brings together guidance for postgraduate students on how to organise, plan and do research from an interdisciplinary perspective. In this new edition, the already wide-ranging coverage is enhanced by the addition of new chapters on social media, evaluating the research process, Kansei engineering and medical research reporting. The extensive updates also provide the latest guidance on issues relevant to postgraduates in all subject areas, from writing a proposal and securing research funds, to data analysis and the presentation of research, through to intellectual property protection and career opportunities. This thoroughly revised new edition provides: Clear and concise advice from distinguished international researchers on how to plan, organise and conduct research. New chapters explore social media in research, evaluate the research process, Kansei engineering and discuss the reporting of medical research. Check lists and diagrams throughout. Praise for the second edition: "... the most useful book any new postgraduate could ever buy." (New Scientist) "The book certainly merits its acceptance as essential reading for postgraduates and will be valuable to anyone associated in any way with research or with presentation of technical or scientific information of any kind."(Robotica) Like its predecessors, the third edition of Research Methods for Postgraduates is accessible and comprehensive, and is a must-read for any postgraduate student.
Use Worldcat to search for more Nvivo texts & request them via Copley's ILL.
- WorldCatBibliographic database containing over 1 billion records. Includes books, films, music scores, and many other types of materials. NOT a journal index.
Qualitative Analysis Using NVivo: the five-level QDA method by ISBN: 9781138743663Publication Date: 2017-09-21Software is cut and dried - every button you press has a predictable effect - but qualitative analysis is open ended and unfolds in unpredictable ways. This contradiction is best resolved by separating analytic strategies - what you plan to do - from software tactics - how you plan to do it. Expert NVivo users have unconsciously learned to do this. The Five-Level QDA (R) method unpacks the process so that you can learn it consciously and efficiently. The first part of the book explains how the contradiction between analytic strategies and software tactics is reconciled by "translating" between them. The second part provides both an in-depth description of how NVivo works and comprehensive instruction in the five steps of "translation". These steps are illustrated with examples from a variety of research projects. The third part contains real-world qualitative research projects from a variety of disciplines, methodologies, and kinds of qualitative analysis, all illustrated in NVivo using the Five-Level QDA method. The book is accompanied by three sets of video demonstrations on the companion website. The book and accompanying videos illustrate the Windows version of NVivo. As there are some differences in screen and interface design between the Mac and Windows versions please watch the video 'The NVivo Mac Interface' in the Component Orientation series of videos (available on the companion website). The Five-Level QDA method is based on the authors' combined 40 years of experience teaching NVivo and other software packages used as platforms for conducting qualitative analysis. After many years observing their students' challenges they developed the Five-Level QDA method to describe the process that long-time NVivo experts unconsciously adopt. The Five-Level QDA method is independent of software program or methodology, and the principles apply to any type of qualitative project.
