When searching databases, look for the "Advanced" search screen so that you can combine terms (e.g., "immigration" and "legislation") and use limiting options, such as a specific date range or type of source
If you want to search for a specific phrase, use quotation marks (e.g., "civil rights movement")
Use OR and parenthesis to search for synonyms for similar concepts in order to get more results, e.g., teenagers OR youth OR adolescents
In many databases you can find variants of the same word by using an * (e.g., sex* will retrieve "sex", "sexy", "sexual", "sextuplet", and "sexuality")
Too many results? Narrow your search by adding more terms, using the limiters, or doing a subject search instead of a keyword search
Too few results? Broaden your search by using more generalized language (e.g., "media" instead of "television commercials") or fewer search terms or removing limiters
Beginning in January 1, 2023, Copley Library now licenses these titles through Global Newsstream. Hyperlinks to the original five newspapers in US Major Dailies has not changed.
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television and radio news transcripts are also provided.
ATTENTION: Please note that Academic Search Premier also includes news and popular sources!
Provides full text for over 2,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.