Welcome
This guide lists online and in-person instruction offerings facilitated by V. Dozier, Education Librarian.
You may request a session for an individual, small groups, and courses via email to vdozier@sandiego.edu. Every reasonable effort will be made to accommodate your request.
Please provide at least 2 weeks advance notice. The earlier I can schedule your session, the better prepared we can all be!
Most popular instruction requests:
- The Quickstart Library
- Research Strategies for Graduate Students
- Citing in APA Style
- Developing a Literature Review
- Nvivo
- Copley Library Instruction Request FormUse this form to request instruction from a Copley Library Subject Specialist.
Other instruction & research assistance offered:
- Syllabus review: provide permalinks to available resources, setup your course reserves, recommendations for more current resources, marginalized voices, & multicultural perspectives
- Assignment development: help you design more engaging, research- & practice-based assignments & rubrics
- Research agenda:
- Developing & progress on your research agenda
- Articulating your scholarly impact (bibliometrics) for promotion & tenure
- Finding appropriate publication,presentation, & grant opportunities for your work
- Retaining your author's rights to your work
Instruction Options
|
Title |
Description |
|
The Quickstart Library (duration: 10-15 minutes) |
Don't have time for a full class session? Choose this option if you'd like me to visit your class for 10-15 minutes. This session will include a librarian introduction, contact info, & 1-2 tips to get your students started on a specific research assignment. |
|
Research Orientation for Undergraduate/Graduate Students |
This session provides a library resource orientation for CoE undergraduate/graduate students. Topics covered will include an overview to Copley Library services & collections, interlibrary loan, scheduling a research consultation, & an overview of education-related databases. |
|
Research Strategies for Undergraduate/Graduate Students |
Have a research project/assignment? This session will guide students through the process of choosing a research topic, crafting a research question, identifying search terms, & conducting initial searches using Scout & relevant education databases. |
|
Using Citation Management Tools |
This session covers basic skills to use a chosen tool including account setup, importing references, creating bibliographies, & using cite-while-you-write for Microsoft Word & Google Docs. Tool options: EndNote or Zotero **May be combined with Citing in APA Style workshop** |
|
Citing in APA Style |
Learn how to cite print & electronic resources & build reference lists using APA Style 6th edition. Emphasis can be placed on using APA Style in conjunction with citation managers such as RefWorks for graduate students. **May be combined with Using Citation Management Tools or Copyright for Teaching & Research workshop** |
|
Developing a Literature Review |
This session covers literature review basics including types, structure, & research strategies, with a focus on education-related literature reviews. |
|
Digital Apps & Technology for Teaching & Learning |
Learn how to effectively infuse digital apps & technology into teaching & learning. This session can be customized for your needs. See example apps.
|
|
Copyright for Teaching & Research |
This session provides an overview of copyright applications, fair use, & Creative Commons usage for teaching & research. |
|
Building an E-portfolio |
This session will cover basic skills for using WYSISYG platforms like Weebly to build an e-portfolio.
|
|
5 Things to Know About OER |
Concerned about rising textbook costs & the impact on student success? This session will introduce you to Open Educational Resources (OER), including what they are, why they exist, & how Copley Library can help incorporate OER into your teaching & research.
|
|
Evaluating Resources in the "fake news" Era |
This session will cover how to distinguish between scholarly, trade, & popular resources, when content/format is appropriate to use, and how to evaluate resources for reliability, bias, accuracy, and currency. |
|
Where to Publish? |
This session will cover tools you can use to use to determine where to publish your scholarly work. Session will also include tips to avoid predatory publishers/publications.
|
|
Tracking Your Scholarly Impact |
This session will cover an array of tools to help you track your scholarly productivity—citations and engagement—and learn how to present it in a positive light.
|
|
Other session |
If one of the sessions above doesn't meet your needs, email me & I will work with you to create a custom session.
|
