Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
This search engine from George Mason University searches up to 16 OER repositories at once including: OAOpen.org, OER Commons, Open Textbook Library, College Open Textbooks, and more.
OASIS Search for Open Content
All textbooks from OpenStax College are completey open and freely available.
Open SUNY Textbooks
Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants. This pilot initiative publishes high-quality, cost-effective course resources by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.
The Orange Grove
This collection offers open books and textbooks from many sources. An open textbook is one that can be freely viewed, downloaded, and self-printed.They may also have non-restrictive licenses that allow for customization and derivative works. Browse the full list of books, view the textbooks provided in the subtopic folders listed below, or use the 'Filter' function to narrow your search using keywords.
Open Access Journals
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high-quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
ScienceDirect offers more than 500 open access journals and over 1200 journals that contain open access content.
PLOS (Public Library of Science) Journals
PLOS publishes a suite of influential journals across all areas of science and medicine. Articles, from authors early in their careers to Nobel laureates, are rigorously reported, peer-reviewed and 100% open access—immediately available, free of restrictions—promoting the widest readership and impact.
Public Domain Review
The Public Domain Review is an online journal and not-for-profit project dedicated to the exploration of curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas.
Launched in 2010, SpringerOpen offers open journals from all areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities, and social sciences.
Digitized Primary Source Materials
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
The Mason OER Metafinder searches sixteen targets in real-time, instantly returning the top several hundred or so relevant hits from each site. Because it is a real-time search, it can take a bit longer than searches of pre-indexed content; however, as compensation the results returned are absolutely up-to-the-minute for each search target. Additional results continue to trickle in as the search continues running and you begin examining your results.
MERLOT II is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
OER Commons is a digital library full of open educational resources.
Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN)
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
Openly Licensed Images, Audio, and Video
Bandcamp: Creative Commons
This site contains music uploaded to Bandcamp under Creative Commons licenses.
Creative Commons Search
Search across many different repositories for images, music, and videos that are licensed under Creative Commons.
Getty Open Content Images
The Getty Museum and Research Institute has made thousands of images available for download here.
Internet Archive: Audio
The Internet Archive hosts many different collections. This particular one contains freely available audio material. Licensing varies; much of it is in the public domain or Creative Commons, so pay attention to the "Usage" note.
Public Domain Project
The Public Domain Project includes thousands of audio, image, and video files in the public domain, free to use with no restrictions.
Webcast.berkeley provides hundreds of video/audio recordings of class lectures and special events.
Wikimedia Commons is a database containing "freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute" according to its homepage.
Smithsonian Open Access
With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
John Hopkins School of Public Health OpenCourseWare
OCW offers open materials and images from more than a hundred courses developed by the faculty of JHSPH.
Khan Academy offers free courses on a variety of subjects at all levels, including undergraduate education.
The first OpenCourseware site, MIT professors have posted free materials used in teaching their courses. Includes syllabi, lecture notes, exams, videos, and more.
Browse free online courses in a variety of subjects. University of Notre Dame courses found here can be audited free or students can choose to receive a verified certificate for a small fee.
Open Yale Courses
Open Yale Courses provides free and open access to a selection of introductory courses taught by distinguished teachers and scholars at Yale University.
Get Help from Your Librarians!