Research Guides: Art and Architecture Circa 1500 A.D.: Image and Reference Resources

Selected Image Databases

Artstor
A digital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Bridgeman Art Library Archive
An outstanding archive of images drawn from collections throughout the world.
Oxford Art Online
A gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location, including a "search for images only" option.
SIRIS Image Gallery
The Image Gallery includes over 210,500 electronic images from several archival repositories and museums at the Smithsonian.
Visual Collections: Images of Art, History, and Culture
Explore over 300,000 images from Over 50 collections
View maps, fine artwork, photographs. Almost all of the collections represented here—from the fine art of MOAC (Museums & the Online Archive of California Collection) to the historic maps of the David Rumsey Map Collection—are available for free, public access.
Web Gallery of Art
a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism and Realism periods (1100-1850), currently containing over 22.600 reproductions. Picture commentaries, artist biographies are available.

Art History Resources on the Web
Comprehensive site providing links to information covering Prehistoric Art to Contemporary Art.
Art Terms
The Tate's online glossary contains definitions, most with illustrations, of over 400 terms including artist groups and art movements, techniques, and media.
Biographical Dictionary of Artists
Getty Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online
A database of 34,000 concepts, including 131,000 terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other information relating to fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture.
Getty Union List of Artist Names Online
Database includes over 375,000 names and biographical and bibliographic information about artists and architects, including a wealth of variant names, pseudonyms, and language variants.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.

Iter Bibliography

As of July 1, 2024, Iter Bibliography has migrated to the EBSCO platform. Iter: Italicum and Milton: A Bibliography are available on the Iter platform. Published by Iter Press, Iter Bibliography is a comprehensive and authoritative database of over 1.5 million citations for secondary source material about the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).