Library Workshops
Click here for the Copley Library workshops calendar, which you can also use to register. If you have questions about a workshop please contact the presenter(s).
Style Guides
Click any of the links below for guidelines in using MLA format.
- What is MLA style?An explanation from the Modern Language Association.
Welcome to the French Language and Literature Guide
Bonjour! Bienvenue sur le guide pour le programme français.
This guide is designed to give you a start on your research in French and Francophone Studies. Use the tabs above to navigate to the different sections of this guide.
Key Electronic Resources
Use the databases below for locating articles and bibliographies.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA (Modern Language Abstracts) lists journal articles and a variety of other types of materials on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.
- JSTORIncludes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 2,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new windowThe database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts.
- Iter Bibliography This link opens in a new window
As of July 1, 2024, Iter Gateway has migrated to the EBSCO platform. Created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) , ITER resources include Milton: A Bibliography for the Years 1624-1700 and Early Theatre (volume 1) 1998 to the present.
- International Medieval Bibliography (Brepolis IMB) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary Bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East (300-1500).
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
French Librarian
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110-2492
Please contact me if you need assistance with finding information or getting help researching for your projects.
hburkhart@sandiego.edu
For remote consultations and instruction sessions via Zoom, please email