Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Image Databases
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A digital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
Database providing access through group or item records to about 75% of the Division's holdings, as well as to some images found in other units of the Library of Congress. Many of the catalog records are accompanied by digital images--about 1.2 million digital images in all.
Oxford Art Online
A gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location, including a "search for images only" option.
SIRIS Image Gallery
The Image Gallery includes over 210,500 electronic images from several archival repositories and museums at the Smithsonian.
Web Gallery of Art
a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism and Realism periods (1100-1850), currently containing over 22.600 reproductions. Picture commentaries, artist biographies are available.
Selected Electronic Resources
Online Resources for the Study of Dutch Art History
This indispensable site contains resources, museums, exhibitions and curators all associated with Dutch and Flemish art throughout the world. A newsletter provides timely information about Dutch and Flemish exhibitions and events.
Art History Resources on the Web
Comprehensive site providing links to information covering Prehistoric Art to Contemporary Art.
The Tate's online glossary contains definitions, most with illustrations, of over 400 terms including artist groups and art movements, techniques, and media.
Getty Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online
A database of 34,000 concepts, including 131,000 terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other information relating to fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture.
Getty Union List of Artist Names Online
Database includes over 375,000 names and biographical and bibliographic information about artists and architects, including a wealth of variant names, pseudonyms, and language variants.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.
Selected Reference Resources in Print
JSTOR Auction Catalogs
JSTOR is collaborating with the Frick Collection and the Metropolitan
Museum of Art in a pilot project to understand how auction catalogs can be best preserved for the long-term and made most easily accessible for scholarly use. This prototype site is open to the public through 2011.
Connect to JSTOR Auction Catalogs database