Library Workshops
Click here for the Copley Library workshops calendar, which you can also use to register. If you have questions about a workshop please contact the presenter(s).
Style Guides
Click any of the links below for guidelines in using MLA format. Note: the MLA Handbook is now in the 8th edition. Be sure your citations conform to the current guidelines.
- What is MLA style?An explanation from the Modern Language Association.
Creative Writing and Academic Composition
- Lindsay J. Cropper Center for Creative WritingThe Cropper Center hosts an annual Writers Series, sponsors writing workshops, promotes the development of writing courses, and grants awards for creative writing. Check out this site for updates on events, workshops, and awards.
- Writing CenterThe USD Writing Center helps students improve their academic writing. Site also includes quick links for useful tips.
New Books and Media for English
Subscribe to this feed to see the most recent 100 new items that are now available at Copley Library.
Welcome to the English Literature Guide
Photo by Susan Q Yin on Unsplash
Welcome!
This guide is designed to give you a start on your research in English Literature. Use the tabs above to navigate to the different sections of this guide.
Click here to go to the Department of English home page.
Key Electronic Resources
Use the databases below for locating articles and bibliographies.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA (Modern Language Abstracts) lists journal articles and a variety of other types of materials on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Published by Gale Research.
- ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Literature brings together the most comprehensive collection of primary texts, ebooks, reference sources, full-text journals, dissertations, video and more, for unparalleled access to historical and contemporary content by and about celebrated and lesser-known authors from around the world.
Includes Literature Online and ABELL, the renowned A&I index by the Modern Humanities Research Association (MHRA) is the definitive resource for literary criticism published between 1892 through 1962. In addition to journals, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations, ABELL indexes book reviews. ABELL provides 1.1M bibliographic citations and continues to grow. Bibliographic experts have long agreed that ABELL is an essential tool for the literary scholar and have stressed its coverage of unique material that is not included in other bibliographic sources.
- JSTORIncludes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowEarly English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other materials related to Shakespeare from 1963 to the present.
- International Medieval Bibliography (Brepolis IMB) This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary Bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East (300-1500).
- Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides. The growing collection meets the full range of teaching needs for theatre studies, literature courses and drama schools. From the epic to the monologue; ensemble to one-person plays; comedy to tragedy; the historical to the contemporary; and from the highly political to the profoundly personal, there is plenty to discover.
- Digital Theatre + This link opens in a new windowDigital Theatre+ provides unlimited access to over 1000+ full-length productions and educational resources. They collaborate with 50 world-class theatre companies, industry associations, practitioners, teachers, examination boards and scholars to capture and curate live performance in stunning quality, bring an unprecedented range of insights from behind the scenes, and commission bespoke educational resources to support study at every level. They also provided filmed productions and interviews as well as superb written content being added every month.
- Screen Studies This link opens in a new window
Screen Studies is a dynamic digital platform taking users from script to screen and beyond – offering a broad range of content from Bloomsbury and Faber & Faber to support moving-image studies.
- Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new windowThe database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts.
- Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowCreated for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) , ITER resources include Milton: A Bibliography for the Years 1624-1700 and Early Theatre (volume 1) 1998 to the present.
New Books and Media
- New Books, Videos, and Audio RecordingsClick the link to a guide featuring the most recent additions to the collection at Copley Library
New English Language Feature Films
This feed shows the English films recently added to the collection.
New Foreign Language Films
This feed shows foreign language films recently added to the collection.
English Librarian
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110-2492
Please contact me if you need assistance with finding information or getting help researching for your projects.
hburkhart@sandiego.edu
For remote consultations and instruction sessions via Zoom, please email