Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Communication Studies 

Resources for the USD Community interested in Communication Studies.
Last update: Sep 01st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.sandiego.edu/content.php?pid=24839  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  

Style Guides

Click any of the links below for formatting guidelines.

Note: APA is the standard for Communication Studies at USD.

Writing Help

  • Writing Center  
    The USD Writing Center helps students improve their academic writing. Site also includes quick links for useful tips.
 

New Books and Media for Comm Studies

Subscribe to this feed to see the most recent 100 new items that are now available at Copley Library.


Loading RSS Feed...
 

New Foreign Language Films

This feed shows foreign language films recently added to the collection.


Loading RSS Feed...
 
 

Welcome to the Communication Studies Guide

This guide is designed to give you a start on your research in Communication Studies. Use the tabs above to navigate to the different sections of this guide.

Key Electronic Resources

Use the databases below for locating news stories, scholarly articles, and bibliographies.

  • Communication & Mass Media Complete  
      
    Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication and mass media.
  • ComAbstracts  
      
    Contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of communication(s) studies.
  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    Provides full text for over 2,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable.
  • Humanities International Index  
      
    A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Provides cover-to-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals and contains more than 2.47 million records.
  • Dissertations and Theses Full Text  
      
    The database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts.
  • Project Muse  
      
    Provides online access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
  • PsycINFO  
      
    Includes psychology and relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, animal behavior, and organizational behavior. Allows you to limit to USD holdings and includes links to full-text.
  • Sage Premier Journals  
      
    The Premier package provides access to virtually all of the SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences, including a backfile dating back to 1999. Journals can be browsed by title.
  • Factiva  
      
    Factiva includes the Dow Jones and Reuters news wires, The Wall Street Journal and over 8,000 other magazines, newspapers, and trade journals from a wide variety of disciplines.
  • Los Angeles Times  
      
    Full-text coverage of the LA times from 1985 to the present.
  • Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe  
      
    A full-text database of over 5,000 newspapers, magazines, wire services, business publications and company information along with basic legal and medical resources
  • New cinemas : journal of contemporary film  
      
    A great source of scholarly articles and reviews of contemporary films worldwide.

New Books and Media

 

New English Language Feature Films

This feed shows the English films recently added to the collection.


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Humanities Librarian

Profile ImageHugh Burkhart


Contact Info:
University of San Diego
Copley Library
5998 Alcala Park
San Diego, CA 92110-2492
619.260.2366 tel.
619.260.4617 fax.
Send Email

Subjects:
Communication Studies, English, Theatre Arts, Library Research Methods, Philosophy

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait