Resources for the USD community interested in literature and literary criticism.
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2013
Click any of the links below for guidelines in using MLA format.
Click the links below for either a short, printable guide with examples or a more thorough presentation on using MLA style.
- Lindsay J. Cropper Center for Creative Writing
The Cropper Center hosts an annual Writers Series, sponsors writing workshops, promotes the development of writing courses, and grants awards for creative writing. Check out this site for updates on events, workshops, and awards.
- Writing Center
The USD Writing Center helps students improve their academic writing. Site also includes quick links for useful tips.
Subscribe to this feed to see the most recent 100 new items that are now available at Copley Library.
This guide is designed to give you a start on your research in English Literature. Use the tabs above to navigate to the different sections of this guide.
Click here to go to the Department of English home page.
Use the databases below for locating articles and bibliographies.
- Literature Online
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 231 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
- MLA Bibliography
MLA (Modern Language Abstracts) lists journal articles and a variety of other types of materials on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.
Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable.
- Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for over 2,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Dissertations and Theses Full Text
The database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts.
- Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) , ITER resources include Milton: A Bibliography for the Years 1624-1700 and Early Theatre (volume 1) 1998 to the present.
- International Medieval Bibliography (Brepolis IMB)
Multidisciplinary Bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East (300-1500).
- Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- Sage Premier Journals
The Premier package provides access to virtually all of the SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences, including a backfile dating back to 1999. Journals can be browsed by title.
- World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other materials related to Shakespeare from 1963 to the present.
- American Film Scripts Online
American Film Scripts Online contains 1,009 scripts by 1,062 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes facsimilie images for more than 500 of these screenplays.
This feed shows the English films recently added to the collection.
This feed shows foreign language films recently added to the collection.