Google Scholar
(search results open in a new window)
ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Where to start:
Historical Abstracts 1954-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. For US history, use America History and Life.
America: History & Life 1964-present. Comprehensive international database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, from prehistory to the current decade. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations.
African American Experience Electronic research tool for history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field. The two primary goals: to provide rock-solid information from authorities in the field, and to allow African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Drawing on over 400 volumes, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.
American Indian Experience offers access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images. From Pre-contact to the present day, from the Inuit of the north to the Seminoles of Florida, AIE is meant for anyone wishing to learn more about America's Native Peoples.
Daily Life Through History What did people eat, wear, or use? What did they hope for, invent, and sing? Daily Life Online explores ordinary life through time and across the globe.
Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Iter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, was created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) . ITER resources include the Iter Bibliography, Milton: A Bibliography for the Years 1624-1700: Revised and for the Years 1701-1799 , Iter Italicum, Early Theatre (volume 1 (1998) to the present, and Renaissance and Reformation/Renaissance et Réform.
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Latino American Experience is the first-ever full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. LAE’s content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos.
Other useful databases:
Academic Search Premier Provides full text for over 6,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.
Ebrary Academic Complete Academic Complete is a highly interactive eBook database from ebrary® that covers all academic subject areas. The collection currently includes more than 30,000 titles from more than 220 of the world’s leading academic, STM, and professional publishers. Note: you must first download and install the ebrary reader on your computer before accessing E-books.
Ethnic Newswatch News, culture, and history from over 240 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Both English and Spanish search interfaces are available.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Ideal for those looking for pro and con arguments on a wide variety of contemporary social issues. Includes the opposing viewpoints series as well as links to reference materials, statistics, selected magazine and newspaper articles, images, primary documents, and Web sites.
Project Muse Provides online access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
WorldCat Bibliographic database containing over 1 billion records. Includes books, films, music scores, and many other types of materials. NOT a journal index.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait